Love’s Sweet Alchemy

When I wasn’t even aware I was looking, you arrived in my life –
gently, slowly, like the crimson morning sun
peering over the horizon.

The darkness had been prolonged by my grief and
the months relentlessly marked by one tragic moment after
another.

My heart soon withered by cruelty, ignorance and harsh sentiment;
judged mercilessly in the court of my peers, I was sentenced to exile
from those I adored.

Banished to walk this earth like an apparition, seeing but unseen;
divorced from the solace and warmth of those
I once called friend.

Fractured in a thousand places, I wandered mutely onward;
fumbling my way around in the darkness, stumbling over the
stones which brought me to my knees.

Spilling out a lifetime of tears, I choked out my plea to the Universe:
Bring me back to Life, help me remember what it felt like
to love and be loved.

And the sun rose once again on me.  I felt the first rays of your sunshine
through the playful words and animated gestures that accompanied
your elegant smile.

In the cold, damp places of my heart, you ignited the inner flame that
was extinguished by the countless misdeeds of others.  I was sparked by the
incandescence of your soul.

What was once damaged beyond recognition, the sweet alchemy of our Love
gilded over the fractures of my soul, and repaired the seemingly
irreparable and made me whole again.

___________

K.C. 10.4.14

This entry was posted in Love, Poetry and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Speak to me